1. Is there a law or set of rules which governs student transportation?
The primary law which governs student transportation in the State of New Jersey is N.J.A.C. 6A:27. In addition, the district has approved Policy 8600 - Student Transportation.
2. Which students must be transported?
All public elementary school students (grades K-8) who live more than 2.0 miles from their school and all public secondary school students (grades 9-12) who live more than 2.5 miles from their school are entitled to transportation. In addition, any student classified with special needs who either meets these distance requirements or for whom transportation is required in the student's Individual Education Plan must be transported. In both cases, and prior to the beginning of the school year, the Transportation Department will notify all eligible students of their route assignments and provide bus passes.
3. If my child attends a daycare in town, can my child also have a neighborhood stop as well as the daycare stop?
In order to safely track students, there is only one stop to and from school. Multiple stops are not allowed.
4. If my child has two addresses in town due to joint custody, can I receive a stop at each address?
Yes. If there are court ordered documents stating joint custody and both parents live in the designated school boundary, the child student can receive two stops. Supporting documents must be presented to the designated school for review.
5. What about students who attend nonpublic schools?
Whenever a school district is required to provide transportation to students attending regular public-school programs, students attending nonpublic schools who meet those same distance requirements may also be entitled to transportation services. However, there are limitations:
- The nonpublic school must also be a non-profit school.
- The nonpublic school must be located within the State of New Jersey and may be located no more than 20 miles from the student's home.
- The cost of the transportation may not exceed the annual maximum per student expenditure set by law each year.
If the cost of transportation exceeds $1000, then the school district is not required to provide transportation. Instead, the Transportation Department will contact the parents/guardians to discuss and arrange for the payment of aid-in-lieu – which is payment of the maximum expenditure amount of $1000 for the year.
6. How is the distance between a student's home and school measured?
Measurement is made by the shortest distance along public roadways or walkways between the entrance to the student's home and the nearest public entrance of the school building. This measurement is for eligibility purposes only and is not necessarily the only travel path to or from school.
7. What happens if a public-school student is not entitled to free transportation?
All public-school students who attend Lacey Township School District schools in grades 5 through 12, and who are not entitled to free transportation may apply to purchase transportation in the Subscription Busing Program.
8. What do I do if my address changes?
If your address/telephone number changes, it is important that parents/guardians contact the main office of their child’s school and the transportation office. Busing requirements will be modified as needed when permanent address changes are implemented. Two business days are required to provide a change to your child’s busing assignment.